Creative problem: any suggestions?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Problem:
So, my wife wants to wear heels to an event, but she finds the constant clicky noise annoying after a while, she also discovered that in the building where the event is held, the sound of heels in the room we're in will travel to the floor below. Being Japanese this makes her feel self-conscious, as if she's impinging on the quietnes of whoewver is the floor below.

Solutions(?):
I'm trying to make a solution so she can walk in the heels without feeling self conscious. The solution needs to be:

• Safe, not slippy or wobbly
  • Make the heels quieter. (Although not necessarily silent, the level of a pair of trainers would be fine.)
  • Discrete: We don't want a great lump on the bottom of the heel.
  • Removable, and
  • Not damage the heel.

I make models as well as ride bikes so I have some experience of different materials. First tests with a protoype showed it is possible to achieve most of this.

The Prototype used a piece of felt on a piece of plastic cut to the shape of the heel base, with the inner tube wrapped underneath and up the back and front of the heel, then held on with a piece of elastic around the heel. The plastic made the construction stable, while the inner tube and felt ran up the back of the heel slightly to cushion the first contact point.

This was effective as lonng as the heel didn't taper too dramatically but doesn't look great.

I am looking for better materials to make the design more discrete than an old inner tube will allow and also allow different colours.