Cycle clothing size charts

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Are cyclists getting bigger? One would reasonably assume that cyclists are in general fit, healthy and relatively er, trim in shape, why then are the cycling size charts you find on most well known internet sites aimed at "larger" sized people? For example, if I want to buy a pair of bib shorts in a make I have never tried before, I refer to their size chart which tells me that for my height my waist must be xxxcm when in fact it is at least 10cm smaller, but if I disregard that and go purely on my height as per the chart then I would be xxl or even xxxl. Crazy! Anyone else have the same problem?

Poacher

Gravitationally challenged member
Nope. Not me......

...and well you know it!

briantrumpet

Legendary Member
I'm similar to you. I always go on waist size for shorts, and if the shoulder straps are too tight then the shorts get returned, though generally they've been stretchy enough to be OK, especially once sitting on the bike in a vaguely aero(ish) position. Any height references I just ignore.

Tojo

Über Member
I ordered some bib tights back in the winter we didn't have and thought that can't be right, but went with the size chart and ordered small and when they arrived they were too big, in length and width at the waist, I think if you order Italian gear it's on the small side and you have to go on size up but the uk manufactures seem to be the other way round and go down one, but look at the German sizes and I can't get anything to fit they are huge.......:wacko:

Tojo

Über Member
Cycle clothes sizing charts (especially shoes) bear no relation to the real world. If you buy online, make sure that the supplier has a free returns policy.