Cycling shoe hack (probably really stupid)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mralexrides

I'm new to cycling and bought some cycling shoes the road ones. I regretted it after seeing SPd ones and fact they are more like shoes. So I was thinking could I just Frankenstein some old shoe soles and glue them onto my cycling shoes? Pretty much like SPD shoes? What do you think? Bought all the gear on chain reaction and they have the idiotic 5 minutes rule of cancellation.

raggydoll

Über Member
Get them returned!
Legally you have 14 days to return goods bought online even if you just change your mind. (as long as they are not made to measure etc)

https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/c...ou automatically get a 14,you to get a refund.

You automatically get a 14-day ‘cooling-off period’ when you buy something you haven’t seen in person - unless it’s bespoke or made to measure.

The cooling-off period starts the day after you receive your order, and there doesn’t need to be anything wrong with the item for you to get a refund.

I wouldn't think gluing cleats to old shoes would be very safe or secure.

T4tomo

Legendary Member
I'm new to cycling and bought some cycling shoes the road ones. I regretted it after seeing SPd ones and fact they are more like shoes. So I was thinking could I just Frankenstein some old shoe soles and glue them onto my cycling shoes? Pretty much like SPD shoes? What do you think? Bought all the gear on chain reaction and they have the idiotic 5 minutes rule of cancellation.
I heard of more stupid things...but not many.:laugh:

as above send them back and then work out what you actually want to buy - pedals, cleats and shoes

raggydoll

Über Member
At first I thought it was about gluing cleats onto normal shoes.
But I think it may be about gluing normal shoe soles onto road shoes.
Either way, best to send back and research the type of shoes you would prefer.

Reactions: C R

vickster

Legendary Member