Distance from home to work

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ketka82uk

11 miles each way. Office hours are 09:30 - 18:00 so I get the best of the London traffic on the way in and out. Usually takes me about 1hr 15 door to desk; 40-45 minutes actual cycling time, 10-15 minutes sitting at traffic lights or in impassable traffic queues and 15 mins to get changed (at girl speed!).

I'm pretty new to the whole London commute thing though, so I'm hoping it will get a bit quicker once I find some better shortcuts and purchase some narrower handlebars! :becool:

garrilla

garrilla said:
I will be extending my route to work to 20.6 miles from Monday

will take me a little bit more into the countryside for a more open ride and therefore fewer junctions

map link for the interested...
http://maps.google.co.uk/maps?f=d&s...-2.888632&sspn=0.136331,0.340233&ie=UTF8&z=12

did my extended route for the first time today -20.1 miles - but weather did not help... head & cross winds and rain most of the way combined with unknown approach made some parts of the route very slow and decreased my avg mph to 15.5. Will make up for this as I get to know the new bits

The good bit is that I'm now riding out traffic and on country roads for about 1/3 of the ride now, which is great for having a car(e)-free ride.

GrumpyGregry

Here for rides.
Evilcat said:
I'm very envious of those with a country lane commute!

'sfunny, I'm envious of those with urban commutes, badly driven transit's passing you with mm's to spare on a single track road at the national speed limit or above, mum's in SUV's tailgating you up the 15% hill and sounding their horns because Jocasta and Tarquin musn't be late for prep school, and angry rep's trying to arrange 120 mph head on's with the on coming traffic as they overtake you as you try to make the sole right hand major road/minor road turn of the journey... and on Friday night - the flooded road. All take the edge of rural commuting.