Dodgy knees and big gears.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Taba

From a combination of Skateboarding, football, road running and rock climbing - I have decidedly dodgy knees. I posted here before about converting my bike to fixed gear or SS or building one up and got a ton of good advice.

After a bit of reading I'm now worried that my knees might be damaged further by spinning a bigger gear. Anyone here have difficulties with their knees, does riding on a big(ish) gear all the time make it worse?

I'm 5'10" and weigh 150lbs, with very muscular and powerful thighs from playing football and skateboarding, I thought this would make fixed perfect for me as I can push big gears pretty well, but I dont want to ruin my knees. What are your experiences?

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
I started riding fixed just over a year ago with a 65" gear. I thought my knees were pretty strong, but after riding fixed abit and doing skids, it made my knees ache.
I went on holiday and didnt take the fixed, just took my geared bike.
I then eased myself into fixed, and havent had problems with my knees since, and they are pretty strong.
Its not the spinning a big gear, its the honking a big gear. Remember, going up hills when you normally change down, or going into a headwind when your legs arent turning very fast puts some strain on your knees.
Start off with a smaller gear, something like 65" and go from there.
Im 17 and started on 65, then went to 66", then 72" which ive rode in Wales and did a 76mile ride in Derbyshire doing some pretty decent hills, and TT on a gear thats mid 90". Ive even had it where ive been going into a strong headwind with my legs hardly turning, and no problems with the knees.
Dont go straight in with a big gear if you have some hills, take it easy first.
Fixed will make your knees stronger, aswell as your thighs, calfs and my ankles have got wider/strengthened up more aswell.