Does it make sense to upgrade the rear wheel only?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rb1414

Hi there...I know this may sound like a newbie question and I am pretty new to the road bike world. I grew up mountain biking and riding motorcycles. I just got the bianchi impulso all road tiagra as I got a pretty good deal on it. I know tiagra isn't the best and isn't the worst so I know I can work with the crankset later on. I want to lighten up the rear end just a little bit by upgrading the cassette to an ultegra and updating the rear wheel that might have a better hub than the stock wheel and be a bit lighter. I was looking at doing a whole wheelset conversion but my finances are a little tight at the moment. Does this make sense to the more veteran riders out there for a quick little upgrade? If so, any wheel/hub combos you can suggest as a good mid-entry wheel? I am currently running the stock wheels and hubs and don't really know if they are any good:
Rear Hub:
Formula RXC-142S road disc, center lock, thru axle 12x142mm, 4SB
Wheels:
Reparto Corse CDX22 disc, tubeless ready

Thanks in advance for any input/ideas/suggestions!

Cheers!

Vantage

Carbon fibre... LMAO!!!
Save up your money till the hub goes faulty and run it into oblivion. Then, upgrade your wheels.
The best upgrade you can make is better tyres (unless you already have good ones).
That's where the weight savings will show the biggest difference and the tyre build itself can add a few mph.

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
A front wheel is a front wheel but upgrading the rear wheel to Ultegra gives you access to 11 speed (more future-proof) if you want it. So it makes sense.

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
Eh?
8 speed cassettes and shifters are still out there years after 11 speed was introduced.
Future proof? :wacko:
You'll struggle to find decent 8 speed cassettes (not HG50 quality in a limited choice) and replacement STI shifters.