Drop Bar Conversion on the Cheap...Help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RGJCPU

Let me just state for the record I'm relatively new to modern day cycling.

I bought a Vilano Diverse 3.0 for $265.00. Money is tight and I want to get back into shape. I love the bike accept for the flat bar. I grew up with drop bars and I prefer them over flat bars. I have spent well over 40hrs searching for an economical way to convert to drop bars. I have gone to several local shops asking if this can be done for $80 -90.00 and I've been laughed at or told it's impossible. The quotes I've been given would almost cost as much as the bike! Ebay and Amazon are make my head hurt with all the parts, pieces, conflicting titles and complexity.

So, I'm tossing this out to all of you. I'm including hyperlinks of what I have found & need to know if these parts will work:
1. A STEM.EXT-7°) 90mm $9.50
2. Drop Bars (Aluminum) $17.00
3. Drop Bar Brake Levers $17.00
4. 3x8 shifters (Don't know, can't find) Here are my preferences in order:
1. Shimano ST-2203 Dual Control Lever 3x8 - Can't find anywhere, don't know what handle to pair it with
2. Dual Control Break shifters - I don't care make model or weight.
3. Handel-bar Mount Shifters - Can't find for 3x8
4. Down Tube Shifters - Can't find for 3x8 and my Down tube diameter is too big (16cm)
5. Bar-End - Least favorite option but I will go with this if the price point is right.

What you may not have considered is that after the conversion your bike may not fit you anymore. The reach to the handlebars will be further than you have now and you might find the bike is now too big.

OP
OP
RGJCPU

RGJCPU

What you may not have considered is that after the conversion your bike may not fit you anymore. The reach to the handlebars will be further than you have now and you might find the bike is now too big.