First clipless day today

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Saluki

World class procrastinator
I have been cycling a while now, the OH has been cycling for about 3 years on and off, and today we finally went clipless.
We went off to Mildenhall Cycle Rally yesterday and got SPD pedals each and I got road shoes (more tri shoes really but they were so comfy) and hubby got mountain bike shoes as he says the road shoes are too narrow for his wider feet. While there we also found a new warm cycling jersey for me and a new helmet as my old one has decided that it doesn't want to stay the same size for a whole ride anymore.
Hubby fitted the pedals and cleats this morning and we spent a bit of time in the garden practicing clipping in and out before going out for a ride.

What a massive difference those SPDs are from rat-traps! The little hills around our way (S Norfolk so they are not proper hills) seemed to be so much flatter and it was all a lot less effort generally. We still only averaged about 12mph moving speed (I had to slow down and wait a lot over the last 10 miles or so as hubby was knackered). I should have done this a year ago when I bought the Giant instead of waiting until I was more used to it. The rat-traps can go in the bin cos they are never going back on the bike again. Even hubby was impressed with them.

I am just so excited about having them and how brilliant they are, I just had to tell someone and my mates locally think that I am bonkers to cycle, let alone spending money on new pedals and shoes.

Lee_M

Guru
Brilliant they are loads better arent they

don't forget to tell us when you have your first fall
when you cant get your foot out (happened to me yesterday)

OP
OP
Saluki

Saluki

World class procrastinator