first solo tour in france

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

sjp1992

so I'm planning my first time on my bike alone in france and i have to say I'm very excited ha but i do not no whats best to do would i be better camping and carrying the extra weight around or save up money and have hotel stops every night if anyone could help with there experience it would be greatly appreciated

It comes down to what do you like - If you don't like camping then don't do it - ditto for hotels - I camp - I love camping and don't like hotels

Extra weight for camping is proportional to how comfortable you want to be when camped - many on here are quite happy to be minimal - I tend to go the other way

France is dead easy for camping so preplanning is not necessary - Im not that experienced in the hotel game but if you are going to find reasonably priced accomodation i would suggest that some preplanning is necessary

robgul

Legendary Member
I'm firmly in the hotel lobby (!) - there are loads of very cheap chains (F1, Premier Classe etc) - pretty basic but good value - often situated in industrial areas, but does that matter? Carrying loads of camping stuff and the possibility of bad weather/packing a wet tent etc is just a turn-off for me.

Most hotels will call your next planned stop and make a booking for you - or look at the websites and book online - easy!

Rob

snorri

Legendary Member
whats best to do would i be better camping and carrying the extra weight around or save up money and have hotel stops every night
When touring in France you are unlikely to be far from cafes, restaurants, supermarkets, rural shops etc., so you could just take a tent, sleeping bag and bed roll, and eat out, this might be termed camping lite.