Freewheel cog on fixed/fixed hub

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

arbocop

I've got a double fixed hub on my single speed. I want to ride a longer distance with hills and won't be comfortable - may not even be possible - without a freewheel. Before I give up and get a new wheel, I have heard that you can get a freewheel on a fixed hub.

Can anyone confirm this and how it is done? Is there a fixed hub freewheel cog available?

Thanks

Mike

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed
It'll work no issues. Except that some hub/free wheels don't mix but that's rare.

OP
OP
A

arbocop

Do I just buy a freewheel cog and screw it on? I would assume that the lock ring would need to be left off. If it will work without issue, it does make me wonder why they are sold as flip flop fixed/fixed.

I believe you but can you elaborate please?

Mike

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed
Okey dokey, I'm no expert and I'm only going from my own experiences.

The fixed/fixed hub will be shorter on both side of hub than a fixed/free, sometimes. Different manufacturers have different approaches. Sometimes the free side has a stop shoulder that stops the freewheel going on too far to stop fouling the spokes. But as always, this is not straight forward. Sometimes, the freewheel will have an internal shoulder to stop it going on too far and will foul with the afore mentioned free hub shoulder and hence a freewheel won't go onto some free hubs.

Phew, does that make sense?

OP
OP
A

arbocop

Thanks for that, and yes,it makes sense. However, I want to buy a freewheel cog and don't want to waste my cash. I suppose I will have to ask the suppliers.

Does anyone have any experience of doing this? I have BLB hubs.

Is there a freewheel that will fit a fixed/fixed BLB hub?

Mike

Fixed hubs dont have as much thread as a freewheel hub,
my fixed/free hub measures 7mm thread on the fixed side
but 12mm of thread on the freewheel side,there's not as much