Fresh Face

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jdub742

My name is Jason. I am moving to the UK in the summer. Hoped to gather some info on the scene. Where is a good location that is, most importantly, good for riding, finding fellow cyclists to train with, has good independent bike shops? I will also need to find work upon arrival. What areas will be best to land a job, hopefully in a bike shop as I have over 10 years experience in the industry? Any info is appreciated. Looking forward to riding with you all!

Arch

Married to Night Train
Welcome!

Well, York has a few independent shops - but I don't know how often they take people on. It's certainly got a good cycling culture - especially of the utility and commuting type. Training, I know nothing about, but there are certainly local clubs.

Other places with a lot of cyclists tend to be London (lots of everything) and big university cities like Oxford and Cambridge.

Where are you coming from? If we know that, we'll know what sort of culture shock to prepare you for;)

Globalti

Legendary Member
If you like MTBing the best area is a valley called Calderdale, to the north of Manchester. It's where Singletrack magazine is published. See: http://www.singletrackworld.com/category/news/the-mag/

However Calderdale folk aren't too friendly towards outsiders, they kick Goths to death in Bacup town.

If you fancy road riding the most active scene seems to be in Kent, for reasons I've never understood. That's to the south-east of London, so the hills are gentle, the roads well surfaced, there are lots of golf courses and millionaires and you're never far from the seedy fleshpots of the Big City. Oh, the cyclists are all in their seventies and are called Arthur or Fred and they wear leather shoes and ride with big saddle bags.

*dons tin helmet and runs for cover*

OP
OP
J

jdub742