Fulcrum 5 bearings

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cliveyp

The other night when I was putting the wheels back on the bike after transporting, I noticed that the rear felt really quite rough/gritty when rolling in my fingers. The front seems OK, but the rear definitely not.

I found an old thread detailing bearing alternatives in these wheels, but didn't know if time has changed anything so thought i'd check up.

The wheels are Fulcrum Racing 5's, not the LG version. As i've said, the front feels great, but I might as well change all if i'm doing the rear. Can anyone tell me the current bearing type and quantity, and the recommended replacements if an alternative is a better bet?

As for the actual fitting, i'm fairly practical (i'm a mechanical engineer, all be it desk-based) and am happy to give most things a go. I presume this isn't a particularly difficult job as long as you have the correct tools? Can anyone tell me what i'm likely to need in order to do this?

The other night when I was putting the wheels back on the bike after transporting, I noticed that the rear felt really quite rough/gritty when rolling in my fingers. The front seems OK, but the rear definitely not.

I found an old thread detailing bearing alternatives in these wheels, but didn't know if time has changed anything so thought i'd check up.

The wheels are Fulcrum Racing 5's, not the LG version. As i've said, the front feels great, but I might as well change all if i'm doing the rear. Can anyone tell me the current bearing type and quantity, and the recommended replacements if an alternative is a better bet?

As for the actual fitting, i'm fairly practical (i'm a mechanical engineer, all be it desk-based) and am happy to give most things a go. I presume this isn't a particularly difficult job as long as you have the correct tools? Can anyone tell me what i'm likely to need in order to do this?