Giant Defy XL Size

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

line71

Hello
Im considering purchasing a Giant Defy 3,i am 6 ft 1 and about 13 stone,im fairly slim build
It will be my first road bike as i have been riding a Dawes hybrid for the last 8 years

Would it be advisable to go for either a large or XL size frame on the Giant?

I prefer a slightly longer reach,is the geometry different for the 2 sizes?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Peteaud

Veteran
I am 6 foot and ride a 2010 Defy 2

Frame is M/L and it fits me perfectly (i also have quite a long reach)

I would try a large frame 1st,

Lee_M

Guru
i dont have a defy at all, but im 6"3 and none of the defys fit me, so Id say you would need the xl

Peteaud

Veteran
I should add a friend who is 5'10" has a 2012 Defy 2 Medium.

You really need to have a ride on one.

The wife has just bought a new bike, the bike shop came out with "her size" which she hated, went up a size "too big" and she says it is comfy and fits perfectly.

Reece

Veteran
+1 on trying one ine person.

All the size guides I read made it to seem I needed an L. Went to the Giant store at Rutland who reckoned I'd need a M/L which felt good, just needed a longer seat post as standard went over min insertion mark with spd-sl's on (giant post supplied FoC), I tried the L too but felt far too stretched out. Glad I didn't just buy online without trying.

A mate of mine is/was selling a Large, (56cm) Defy 2 recently.

I think he still has it but I can easily check if you're interested.

I've no idea whereabouts you are, but if you are anywhere near Bolton, (BL3), then he'd be very happy to let you try it.

OP
OP
L

line71

A mate of mine is/was selling a Large, (56cm) Defy 2 recently.

I think he still has it but I can easily check if you're interested.

I've no idea whereabouts you are, but if you are anywhere near Bolton, (BL3), then he'd be very happy to let you try it.