Has anyone noticed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

colly

Re member eR
that when riding fixed, hills, while they are difficult sometimes, don't present the kind of obsacles you would imagine? Only having one gear and all.
I've been riding fixed almost exclusively since about 2012, the past couple of years not that much tbh, but I noticed even hills I would be using all my gears on I was still managing OK. Not exactly breezing up them but neither grunting and groaning with every pedal stroke.
I have only ever had to stop once on a hill on fixed and given that it was 20% in places and it was after a long climb already I was amazed I got that far before climbing off.
Is it just that fixed is more efficient in that there is no 'dead spot' on the cranks or is it more the psychology of it in that you know there is no easier gear so you just get on with it.
I've also notice that riding at night where you can not see the surrounding terrain, even inclines you know are there seem to be almost non existent. You can't see the surrounding countryside so there are no clues as to how difficulot it might be.

Just curious.

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
Is it just that fixed is more efficient in that there is no 'dead spot' on the cranks or is it more the psychology of it in that you know there is no easier gear so you just get on with it.
Nah, it's cos fixie riders are well 'ard.

D

Deleted member 1258

There's a couple of climbs round here that I've never got up on fixed, but most I can climb on fixed OK. But I'm perhaps not the best one to comment on this, I mostly ride in rolling Warwickshire country side, so while there are plenty of climbs we have a shortage of the brutally steep climbs

OP
OP
colly

colly

Re member eR