heart rate for newbies

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

eagles633

hi, i'm a newbie tx for letting me join.
iv'e got my bike and all the gear. the missis even bought me the garmin with the heart rate monitor for xmas. being new i'm well out of shape, beer belly and all that.
iv'e been out today and done a 10 mile ride. stopped a few times knackered. anyway my worry is on the garmin connect app my avg heart rate is 156 with a 174 max and i'm %60 of the ride in zone 5, red zone.
is this normal for a new chunky way out of shape guy?
hope thats made some sense. sorry for the poor spelling and grammar. i'm crap at it.
tx

Slick

Guru
Nobody cares about the spelling and such. Obviously I'm no expert but it sounds normal enough to me, but we are all different apparently.

welsh dragon

Thanks but no thanks. I think I'll pass.
My advice is to forget the heart rate monitor. Just enjoy riding your bike. Take it slowly. Do not push it it too far. If you get tired, stop. Concentrate on the time you spend on your bike not distance. Gradually build up your time in the saddle. With time, your fitness will increase and couple that with eating better you will lose weight which in turn will help with fitness levels.

Just have fun. Forget the rest.

If you haven't set the max HR in garmin and you've got a higher max than the default according to the garmin you'll mostly be in the red even if you aren't. My max HR is set to 200bpm but IIRC the default is 178bpm. Occasionally a garmin update has restored the default making it look like I was in the red, when I wasn't. If you want to train on HR you need to find out what your actual max is and don't use the default which for most cyclists its way off. Your max if it was truly found shouldn't change as you get fitter just the longer you can operate before burning out . Or some rides which were pushing the max are now done at a lower HR for the same or better pace.

MrPorridge