Heart rate monitoring whilst cycling

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi,
I've been cycling aa few years now and have never really been scientific about stats ect. I enjoy looking over my ride on strava to see if my averages have improved but as far as heart rate monitoring I've never gave a it a second thought.
When feeling out of breath or feeling my heart pounding up that long hill i just do the normal thing and ease off.
Just yesterday though i bought a Huawei gt smart watch. Been wanting one for ages now but there's always been a bill in the way to pay so its been a long time coming. Really pleased with it so far and couldn't wait to get out today to try the heart rate function.
I'm a complete novice to all this gadgetry and would be grateful of some advice on my heart rate.
After doing some research (only a small amount) ive learnt that i should deduct my age of 50 from 220 to give me my max heart rate whilst cycling (or there abouts)
My resting heart beat last night and this morning was between 41/60.
This afternoon i went on a 45 mile ride and my heart rate averaged around 145 peaking very briefly at 172 on climbs.
Tonight a few hours after the ride it still around 80/90bpm
Would this be a normal scenario for an oldish wannabe like me.
As I've got nothing to base it on with other cyclists i would be interested to hear from you and compare notes.
All the very best and thanks for any advice

Last edited:

Milkfloat

An Peanut
A couple of things to burst your bubble. 1. 220 minus your age is poppycock and an approximation at best. Google for some decent tests. 2. A wrist based monitor is very unreliable when cycling, you would be much better off with a chest strap (which may connect to your watch).

PaulSB

Legendary Member