Hello from California!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pato Donald

I found this site while doing research on the London-Edinburgh-London 2013! It seems like a great, supportive place to help meet other people and get some of my questions answered. I don't own a car, so I have to bike everywhere I go (which is weird for southern California!), but I'm just getting into biking for sport. I was a fairly serious runner in my past life, but as I'm entering my mid-30s, my body seems to keep breaking down so I figured it was time to transition into something else. Anyway, I'm happy to be here and hope you aren't too hard on this Yank! :tongue:

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
Hi Pato

Welcome to CC :hello:

Saluki

World class procrastinator
Hi Pato :welcome:
Body breaking down in your 30's? Wait until you get to your mid 40s :laugh: I switched from only running 20 years ago and to only cycling for exercise about 9 years ago (with some lay offs between now and then) and haven't regretted it for a second.

Sounds like a fun ride you are planning next year. Have a look in the 'Things you're always being asked about cycling/your bike' thread, it might give you some ammo for dealing with the stupid cycling questions :smile:
I used to not own a car, right up until I opened my own business. I quite miss the non car owning days.

OP
OP
Pato Donald

Pato Donald

Haha, well, I've made a few visits to the UK and Ireland so I'm a bit familiar with the weather. But after reading the ride report from 2009's LEL on this forum, maybe I don't know what I'm getting myself into...

Then again, the last time I was in the UK (Dec 2010) there was snow, so this will have to be an improvement, right? :rain:

Nice to meet you!

OP
OP
Pato Donald

Pato Donald

Hello Saluki!