Hello from Norway

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cico

Regular
Hi.

I was sick this weekend and was searching through different bike forums and then got stuck on this one because I found so much information and also liked the "feeling" of this forum compared to others I scrolled through.

Anyways..

The reason I scrolled through a lot of forums is because I just got a new job as a manager in the department of the workshop in a big store in Norway, where I've worked for several years. (Has to be said that 40% of the job is admin work)

And to be honest, I am very new to everything mechanical about bikes. The last time I changed tires was maybe 25 years ago as a kid with a screwdriver... All the parts on a bike is new to me. How things works is new to me. But as a person I love to solve problems, and even though I'm new to this, I have confidence enough to think that this will be an awesome job in the long run for me.

I know how to ride a bike though. I have been commuting with a bike for many years, in Norway and Sweden in cold conditions and also in Spain for many years in warm conditions. (Why pay for a bus ticket to work or to the pub when I have a bike?) But I've never fixed my bikes..

I should've learned that...

I have one winter bike, which is a 29" MTB bike and one ebike which I use in the summer (which I also crashed and bruised my ribs on in the last days of October, still hurts). @DCLane my first bike was actually an oversized DBS bike when I was about 7-8 years old!

My commute these days is approximately 32 km round trip, Monday to Friday. (But haven't done so much since my crash, waiting on my stud tires)

I'm now 34 years old, just got my first kid, bought a house. I have a nice job environment and an average salary. When the chance for a challenge came up, I said yes please!