Help me decide, or just be abusive instead

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CentralCommuter

Here goes …

I’ve had the same stock seat on my Cube roadie for 5 years or so and it needs refreshed.
I’ve narrowed it down (through reviews and what looks nice) to a Charge Spoon or a Brooks Cambium C17. Both look nice, one is £30 and one is £80.
Anyway, anybody used both, have a similar bum to mine, and want to offer an opinion?

Of course, posters waxing lyrical about how pointless a post like this is also welcome, you need something to fill your evenings😃

No idea about the bum but I have a charge spoon onn my fixie and it's comfy. Buy that one first and see how you go.

raggydoll

Über Member
I have no experience of either but from looking online at both those options I'd give the charge spoon a shot. At £30 it seems a good deal, looks well made and gets good reviews.

Do either of your choices look similar to the one already on your cube in terms of shape etc?

OP
OP
C

CentralCommuter

Good point. The Charge looks like it a bit, but I wanted something comfier than the Cube one. That’s what attracted me to the Brooks - the cut away - as well as the fact it’s a Brooks and quite attractive.

raggydoll

Über Member
It's something I've never really thought about. I've never replaced a saddle but I think if I was happy with the saddle that is currently on it I'd look for something as close to that one as I could (depending on price of course).

I'm a creature of habit though!

I just did a google search for commuter saddle (given your name!:tongue:) and it is a minefield!

Bontrager has quite a few too that look quite padded.

Too much choice!

raggydoll

Über Member
This one do you?:laugh:

1623965266076.png

OP
OP
C

CentralCommuter

Presumably I could measure my own sit bones. I’m going to find a tape measure …
Just do the job properly and get your butt measured and then get the appropriate width saddle. :smile: