HGV Speed Limits

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

davester65

Growing Old is Compulsory...Growing Up is Optional
Don't get me started...i'l have a rant ^_^

as for raising the HGV speed limits on a-roads, that's a no no for me, much better to reduce the 60mph limit for cars, and as a previous poster said, silly overtaking by impatient car drivers is the cause of a lot of the accidents.

Spartak

Powered by M&M's
As a trucker, i'd accept that.....as long as all the doddery old gits who insist on doing 50mph max in their cars got banned from the motorways too :dry:

Presently there is a 50 mph stretch on the M4/M5 around Bristol with average speed cameras, that quite obviously doesn't apply to drivers of HGV's.

davester65

Growing Old is Compulsory...Growing Up is Optional
Presently there is a 50 mph stretch on the M4/M5 around Bristol with average speed cameras, that quite obviously doesn't apply to drivers of HGV's.

or BMW's ^_^

Most Police Forces work on a 10% + 2 cut off, i.e. in a 50 mph camera zone you may get flashed but you won't get fined under 56mph, i personally stick to 49mph in these zones, unfortunately some hgv drivers don't back their speed down and stay at full throttle (most trucks 53 - 55mph) because they know they won't get summonsed.

mark st1

Plastic Manc
Which is great when I eventually get to a motorway, but its 150 miles to the nearest one.

lol so move house then if it concerns you so much. We share the roads we all pay road tax and insurance and a damn sight more than your average car driver. Love how everyone slates lorries lorry drivers etc etc. as all your food fuel clothes BIKES you buy at some point or another gets transported in a lorry then they are a necessary evil.

byegad

Legendary Member