Hi-Viz, sensible precaution or victim blaming?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Robert Davis........

There is a brilliant book by him

Death on the Streets: cars and the mythology of road safety

Biker Joe

Über Member
As a cyclist I would advocate' Be Safe Be Seen'. Happy in the knowledge that I am that much more visible to others.
As a driver I am pleased when I can easily see cyclists or pedestrians when they are wearing Hi Vis jackets or other items.

Kies

for a cyclist it's a sensible precaution, same as using at least one front and one rear light after dark.

Unlit cyclists feature in fewer than 2% of vehicle/cyclist collisions. I think I read black shows up better in daylight? May be wrong.

MontyVeda

a short-tempered ill-controlled small-minded troll
i wear a dreadful 'normal' jacket and will be til spring... it's grey.

I can honestly say that to date, all drivers have managed to avoid me :thumbsup:

Ern1e

Über Member
Ok going of slightly side ways on this tread last night approx 11.00 pm whilst taking the family mutts out meet a nieghbour returning home after parking his car and he says just watch down the road there is a bloody looney riding a bike with no lights and yes a few moments later said bike rider dressed in black (yep all black) rode past us the nieghbour mutters what a kn*b, so then I ask him did you see the guy on the road bike who just went past ? NO why so it's why the hell did you see the one without lights and the guy that just rode by with enough lights to well you know the story, so please could someone explain this one to me because I always wear Hi Viz night and day 2 lights front and 3 at the rear and one on each wheel and some just do not see me. I am thinking that it may be safer to just wear black dump all the lights and go for it ?

gaz

Cycle Camera TV