How do I get better at cycling?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Anonymous1502

I am a beginner cyclist so far the maximum distance that I have managed to do is 30km in one go. How do I get better at cyclist and be able to endure longer distances while still maintaining speed?

vickster

Legendary Member
Ride your bike more :okay: that’s it
You’re riding more than 90% of the population in one go already. Or stop, have a coffee, enjoy the scenery and then ride some more.
Riding in built up areas and traffic is more tiring too due to stop start so get out into the countryside if you can or go out very early or late

vickster

Legendary Member
A good start. I rarely ride more than 30km a day, I just ride almost every day. It’s all my knackered body can cope with it! And work restricts longer time out ultimately.
Who really gives a stuff though, unless you’re planning on competing in longer races. I’m not being paid to cycle :whistle:

A good start. I rarely ride more than 30km a day, I just ride almost every day. It’s all my knackered body can cope with it! And work restricts longer time out ultimately.
Who really gives a stuff though, unless you’re planning on competing in longer races. I’m not being paid to cycle :whistle:
Funny you say you don't get paid to cycle I was showing my partner the rides of someone I follow on Strava who in lockdown has been doing 60 to 150 miles per day, instead of being impressed she said if he isn't been paid to spend those hours on a bike he is a bit of a sad person with no social life. ( or words to that effect)

Sharky

Guru
Don't think too much about distances, think more in time spent on the bike. You must be doing 60-90 mins at the moment, so just wait until that becomes a comfortable distance, then add 15-30 mins until that becomes comfortable and repeat. You will get to an optimum time, that fits in with your life style, with the occasional epic rides when you have the time.