How long does grease store without deterioration?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
A garage tidy up has brought to light a few old tubes of unopened Finishline Teflon synthetic white grease and a large tub of pink grease (cant recall the name) of pink jelly like grease that somewhat resembles Swarfega in look and transparency.

I also have some wheels (cup/cone) serviced with Finishline Teflon immediately before storage in the clean dry garage. The wheels have been out of action for a few years.

In your view,
- is any of this grease still likely to be useable (it looks OK but I dont want to damage the hubs)?
- do I need to re-service the cup and cone bearings in the wheels or can I just use them, as they spin OK when I tested them by hand?

Thanks for opinions.

lazybloke

Considering a new username
Grease goes "off"?
Hell, I've been using the same tub of Castrol something for at least 20-25 years, maybe nearer 30.
I reckon it'll last several generations!

Grease goes "off"?
No idea, thats why I asked. I did not know if there was any difference if the grease was marked up as 'fully synthetic' either. Not even sure what the non synthetic content might be. Grease is a mystery to me.
However your answer is helpful, many thanks.

I suppose your dilema will ultimately be which relative, friend or charity to leave your tub to? Tricky one.

wafter

I like steel bikes and I cannot lie..
I think the two potential issues are separation (if present the solid lube particles drop out of suspension leaving a think oil carrier and claggy caked solids) or the carrier evaporates, leaving it sticky and stodgy.

If it's neither of the above you should be fine, if it's separated it can be mixed up again and if it's dried out but you know what it was based on, you could potentially add more oil...

it's dried out but you know what it was based on, you could potentially add more oil...