I Can't Indicate

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

FailedComic

Regular
Hey. Sorry if this has been covered before (I tried searching to no avail!)

I'm basically a complete newbie to cycling. I just bought a road bike last week, and although I'm getting a bit of confidence on the road, I'm struggling with indicating. In fact, every time I take a hand off the handlebar I just swerve all over the place.

I've tried and tried. Obviously I don't want to land head first into an oncoming car, so I was wondering if people had any tips to help me.

I'd say just relax. As with anything, the more you think about it the worse it gets. So try and relax and just concentrate on your surroundings, as your confidence grows everything else will fall into place and become second nature, then before you know it you'll be a hand signal master :thumbsup:

Rob500

Don't worry about FC. I was exactly the same. After you've clocked up a few miles it'll become easier.

It'll come but often being aware of your surroundings a look over the shoulder and slotting into a gap can save you having to indicate and being in a position where its clear what you are doing helps too. When I think back to when I started again I dreaded signalling but now I do it almost without thinking.

Andy_R

Hard of hearing..I said Herd of Herring..oh FFS..
I'd say just relax. As with anything, the more you think about it the worse it gets. So try and relax and just concentrate on your surroundings, as your confidence grows everything else will fall into place and become second nature, then before you know it you'll be a hand signal master :thumbsup:
+1 about relaxing.

Also: don't look at your hand. It doesn't need you to look at it to make it signal. Don't look at your front wheel or the ground. Look straight ahead and slightly up if you can (try to get into a habit of lifting your chin just before you need to signal). Keep on pedalling too.