Interesting pot hole saga ahead

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Drago

Legendary Member
About a month ago i reported a pot hole using the Fill That Hole app. Its on the inside apex of a corner on an unlit county road on the approach to our village. Its big, about a metre long, and encroaches about 0.75M into the carriageway, and is about 20 cm deep. I'm no expert on such matters but the road at that point is drained badly and when it rains a river of water runs down that side of the road, and I suspect it has finally undercut the road and the surface has collapsed into it.

Anyhoo, I've reported it, and they've not bothered to fix it. This morning I discovered that last night the son of a friend of Mrs D hit itnin the dark in his car, badly damaging the car and causing him to lose control. Car mullered, young river battered and bruised but thankfully otherwise OK .

We've furnished his Mum with a screen print from the app with the details of my report of the pothole so he has proof it was reported long ago. Wevd also printing d the confirmation email.

This is liable to cost the council thousands, perhaps in excess of ten grand if the car is written off. I know they're moaning about tight budgets, but I can't help thinking it would have been one helluva lot cheaper to fix the hole in the first place - that's Councils taking the short term view, then wondering why they have no money left.

I'll keep you updated over coming days as to his this progresses. I am hoping upon hope that they deny any knowledge so young lad can triumphantly shove it up their bottoms. I also hope he talks to the media, but that's his business as to whether he does.

pclay

Veteran
Is the council aware of the pot hole. I am not sure on how the 'fill that hole' app works; does it contact the relevant council automatically?

My local council has a pot hole report tool on their website. I regularly use that, rather than the app.

OP
OP
Drago

Drago