Is it Disc Brake capable?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Frank_1978

Hello. :smile:
I am new to cycling, I knew nothing about bicycles when a few years ago when I bought me this cheap 29" bicycle (I do not know what type) for exercising, then let it sit still for 2 years or more, some parts got rusted due to the lack of maintenance, of course, and now I decided to rescue this bike because I need it to go to work, I have an extreme tight budget, so I will mainly use cheap Chinese parts.
These are some of the measurements I could get:
Top Tube: 590mm
Seat Tube: 410mm
Down Tube: 750mm
Head Tube: 140mm
Fork: 490mm
Seat Stays: 450mm
Chain Stays: 455mm
Front Centre: 610mm
Wheelbase: 1006mm
Now, the part I have not figured out yet is the disc brakes capabilities of this frame, as you can see in the picture, 25mm seems a little bit too small, or maybe that's not where one mounts the calipers... Is it possible to install disc brakes in this frame? (I know I have to change the wheel hubs) Also, please note the seat stays shape, it looks problematic, but, I am no expert, that's why I ask you all. Thank you.

Attachments

• Disc Brake Mounts.jpg
    Disc Brake Mounts.jpg
    180.6 KB · Views: 75
  • Front fork.jpg
    Front fork.jpg
    124.7 KB · Views: 62
  • Seat Stays.jpg
    Seat Stays.jpg
    84.9 KB · Views: 73
  • The Bicycle.jpg
    The Bicycle.jpg
    173.9 KB · Views: 73

AndyRM

XOXO
Yep, you'll be fine. But if you're on a tight budget there's nothing wrong with the V brakes currently on there.

FishFright

More wheels than sense
Hello. :smile: