Jacket and/or Jersey for longish commutes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

totem

Total Newb, but eager to learn
Need a jacket and/or a jersey for my regular commute. 10 miles each way, 5 days a week. Been browsing the typical sites to see what's out there and there's a lot. Almost too much, a little overwhelming if I'm honest.

What I'd like, some sort of reflectivity and high-viz if possible. Waterproof, breathable and windproof, especially as it's getting pretty cold now.

From what I've seen so far, the closet that might match my wishlist is probably the Endura FS260-Pro SL Thermal Windproof Jacket. I've also seen the Endura FS260-Pro SL Shell Waterproof Jacket. They both come in hi-viz green. Also a bit pricy ~£125, but if they are very good jackets, then I can tolerate the cost. The major difference is the waterproofing and windproofing if I've read details correctly.

Any owenrs of ITK's with details about them, feedback welcome. Also alternative suggestions appreciated as well.

Thanks.

Last edited:

Spiderweb

Not So Special One

vickster

Legendary Member
Go try them on? The endura looks lighter and more race. The altura is more like a coat with pockets, and able to layer up underneath.
Bulky doesn't really matter for a 10 mile commute, which is what 45 mins or so?

The Alturas are excellent and often available on special (try on in Evans, get them to price match)

jonny jeez

Legendary Member
Need a jacket and/or a jersey for my regular commute. 10 miles each way, 5 days a week. Been browsing the typical sites to see what's out there and there's a lot. Almost too much, a little overwhelming if I'm honest.

What I'd like, some sort of reflectivity and high-viz if possible. Waterproof, breathable and windproof, especially as it's getting pretty cold now.