London to Paris Charity Ride

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

simmiwoodwal

Hello All,

I am a complete newbie and hadn't been on a bike since I was a child until 8 weeks ago when I decided to sign up for the London to Paris charity ride which is in 8 weeks time.

3 months ago I bought my first bike ever which is a Specialized Vita (Hybrid) and 6 weeks later got the clipless pedals. I do only road cycling and I am finding that this bike tires me out quite a bit and hills are really really difficult despite being relatively fit. Is this the bike or me??

Do you think I should change over to a road bike when I have only 8 weeks left to go and need to train quite hard. I am already a bit nervous riding and even more so with the change to clipless pedals....would changing bikes take me over the edge??

I am a 5ft 5 female so any suggestions on suitable bikes (if you think I should get a road bike) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanking you all in advance.

I've seen the Vita it's a decent bike. I don't see how, it tires you out, any more than another bike and as it's your first ever I'm not sure what you're comparing it too?

Common mistakes beginners make which are worth mentioning are, having your seat too low and pedalling too slowly in too high a gear, let us know how you ride so we can consider that.

Other than that, the common advice is to just ride your bike, the more you ride, the fitter you get, changing it at this stage doesn't seem logical but we need a bit more info of how you ride and how far, to judge.

rugby bloke

Veteran
Hello and welcome to the forum.