Lorry versus Cycle - advice needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TJM01

Hi All

I am relatively new to cycling and have just had my first crash since I was a kid... and hope someone can help.

Whilst cycling on the road on Friday, I was going downhill into a right hand corner. The road is poorly maintained and is flagged on Kent County Councils website as being in need of repair. The surface is covered in loose gravel. Knowing the road well, I was travelling reasonably fast as it was a downhill stretch, but in my mind appropriately for the road.

Suddenly a lorry came round the corner towards me using at least half of my side of the road, causing me to change my line to avoid hitting him. This change forced me onto loose gravel and then to the very outside edge of the road where I hit a series of potholes (see picture);

Road1.jpg

I managed to lift the front wheel before hitting the first pothole, but the rest is a bit of a blur... the next thing I knew I was sliding down the road and landed lying twisted in my bike on the wrong side of the road and unable to get up. The lorry didn't stop, but luckily for me the next car coming round the corner did.

I got a very good description of the lorry (which is a council or council contractors vehicle) which was confirmed by the next driver, who didn't see the accident but did pass the lorry just before finding me (and she is prepared to give a statement saying that).

My wife came and collected me and the bike and insisted I went to hospital where I had multiple X-Rays as they were concerned about my neck and back. Fortunately I came off pretty lightly but have bad gravel rash to me left shoulder and back, left elbow and arm, right elbow and many bruises in places I didn't know could bruise.