Maybe I’m Over reacting but…

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

stuckinthemud

Regular
But why would a cycle club decide to ride out of a very busy beach resort up a really steep and winding A road at lunchtime on a Saturday in August, and on what planet would any cyclist think it OK to undertake the cars trying to weave safely through the gaps in the traffic ? Come on guys, you genuinely are putting lives at risk . Where’s the risk assessment on that cool idea? Train on the hill midweek when it’s quiet by all means but mid August Saturday lunchtime?? Why put everyone at needless risk? You should not be there but I bet you’d blame the car driver if it all went wrong. And yes, I am a runner, long distance cyclist, motorcycle rider, and car driver . Rant over? Nearly. If a teacher put a KS4 group in that situation they would be instantly dismissed but apparently it’s ok to choose that route cos you’re all adults? I know, I am a KS4 teacher. You better be certain you have no teens riding out with you

I don't usually dive in to these sorts of threads, but on this one I'll bite, so here goes.

...why would a cycle club decide to ride out of a very busy beach resort up a really steep and winding A road at lunchtime on a Saturday in August
Because it's not a Motorway so they're allowed to ride there?

...and on what planet would any cyclist think it OK to undertake the cars trying to weave safely through the gaps in the traffic?
One where filtering is permitted by the Highway Code, i.e. this one. You do imply they were trying to do it safely, after all

Come on guys, you genuinely are putting lives at risk . Where’s the risk assessment on that cool idea?
Was it definitely a club? Your jumping to the need for a Risk Assessment could be misconstrued as "'elf and safety gawn mad, guv"

Train on the hill midweek when it’s quiet by all means but mid August Saturday lunchtime??