Mountain bike commuter tire

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm thinking of riding my old mountain bike as a daily commute to work. The tires are sized 50-559 26 x 1.9 Can anyone recommend some inexpensive smooth road tires that I can change the big knobbly off road jobs for?
I've zero experience of bikes, and we are only talking of a 12 mile round trip on mostly main roads.
many thanks.

If you can find them, Schwalbe City Jets. Go for the 1.5" size.

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
I did a year commuting by mtb , 10 miles each way. No problems due to riding an mtb (hardtail with short travel forks) but did swap out to some slick tyres. No need to go skinny, 26x2.0 were perfect, fast and meaty enough to allow me to hammer down flights of steps and otherwise continue to act like a teenage hooligan (I might grow up one day?).
Not sure what current availability is but there should still be suitable options in the 1.9-2.1 size range.

I use Schwalbe Marathon Plus on my bikes for commuting.

They cost more than regular tyres, but they have the puncture stopping strip inside, which means I can be pretty sure I won't have to call work and explain how I'm going to be late because of a puncture. For me this is worth the extra cost.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
These are good.
https://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/TYVIREVTECH/vittoria-revolution-tech-g-rigid-tyre

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
I use Schwalbe Marathon Plus on my bikes for commuting.

They cost more than regular tyres, but they have the puncture stopping strip inside, which means I can be pretty sure I won't have to call work and explain how I'm going to be late because of a puncture. For me this is worth the extra cost.