moving saddle back?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jim55

Guru
i seem to b putting a fair bit of weight through my hands /arms whilst riding on the hoods,will (as iv read elsewhere )moving my seat rearwards a bit put less weight on the hoods ?

numbnuts

Legendary Member
moving my seat rearwards
No it should be forwards to sit more up right

No it should be forwards to sit more up right

I'd agree with this; if you're putting a lot of weight on your hands/arms it would suggest to me that you're too stretched out. By moving the saddle forward, like numbnuts says, you'd be in a more upright position with more support and weight baring from the saddle rather than on your arms/hands.

This is just my observation of course, and I am by no means an expert.

endoman

my saddle was moved back at my bike fit, Let me sit properly on the saddle and took a lot of weight off my hands etc. Without knowing an awful lot more about the OP and how he currently sits it's very difficult to advise.

U

User6179

raise the handlebars by flipping the stem would make the biggest difference , dont think moving the seat or shorter stem would make much difference

Endoman has struck the nail on the head; it's difficult to get advice from here.

Have you thought about getting re-fitted at your LBS?

OP
OP
jim55

jim55

Guru
flipping the stem is not an option as its a quill stem,iv already fitted a shorter stem as when i got the bike it had something like a 150 mm on it ,i rode that and it was really stretched out ,just didnt feel right ,i changed it for 120 and it was better so maybe a shorter stem is the way to go (along with putting the seat back to support the weight )
i gen feel that im sliding off the saddle and always pushing myself back on it

djb1971

Legendary Member
Jim, google:

Steve Hogg seat setback

Peter White how to fit a bike