My first touring bike - help needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

earthuman

Hi All,

Have been reading through the site with much interest. Lots of valuable information here. Well, I'm finally ready to buy myself my first touring bike and hit the road - my budget is around £700 - £800. At the moment my ambitions are to start doing some trips around Europe (France, Spain, Portugal, Italy, etc) with each trip lasting about 2 -3 weeks in duration.

There several threads already about different bikes for different budgets, but I can see great merit in finding someone local that can help me choose the right bike. I have very little experience besides the normal cruising around town type of cycling.

I'm based in the Brighton and Hove area. Is there anyone here that can point me in the direction of a good bike shop that will help find me the right bike as opposed to sell me what they have in stock?

Many thanks everyone!

Gerry Attrick

Lincolnshire Mountain Rescue Consultant
To get a top notch tourer, to be honest your budget might need stretching a bit, but not to despair, I have heard nothing but good reviews of this: http://www.edinburghbicycle.com/com...revolution-country-traveller.htm&f_cardinal=3

At least that will leave you a bit of spare cash for luggage etc.

snorri

Legendary Member
Welcome earthuman:smile:
For touring, you will need to be thinking of buying a luggage rack and panniers, also bottle racks, basic tool kit, perhaps lighting...the list goes on:smile:
It might be an idea to look out for a second hand Dawes Galaxy, you could probably find one within your budget.

xilios

Veteran
Welcome
You can tour on just about any bike, check out this site> http://www.pbase.com/canyonlands/fullyloaded
I ride a hybrid and my wife a fitness bike (they both had eyelets for front racks) pictures and tips on our page below.