My friend's heart rate is much lower

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jani

Hello everyone!
I went for a bike ride with my friend today and after we finished we checked our heart rate. His heart rate was 80 and my heart rate was 140.
BUT I only started riding bike 2 weeks ago again . We took 30 kms and we went uphill a lot during the journey. He is in the same age and he always rides bike (but he started to ride a bike for the first time this year at the same time with me)
Why is there a huge difference between the heart rates ?

vickster

Legendary Member
It is possible that he is either super fit compared to you, or your equipment is faulty. Genetics will also play a role and the fact we are all different!

OP
OP
J

Jani

Very similar here with my much fitter mate.

You've already answered your own question.
Yes, probably. Sometimes he goes for a longer ride (150 kms) Once he took a 250 kms long ride including lots of uphill ride.

si_c

Guru
Do you mean average HR for the ride, or spot HR at the end of the ride?

Fitness plays a significant role, I went for a ride with my wife the other day, her average HR was 135 mine was 90.

I exercise a lot more.

OP
OP
J

Jani

Do you mean average HR for the ride, or spot HR at the end of the ride?

Fitness plays a significant role, I went for a ride with my wife the other day, her average HR was 135 mine was 90.

I exercise a lot more.

I mean at the end of the ride
I dunno what the average was.

OP
OP
J

Jani

It is possible that he is either super fit compared to you, or your equipment is faulty. Genetics will also play a role and the fact we are all different!
Probably he is super fit and I am not fit at all.

vickster

Legendary Member
Probably he is super fit and I am not fit at all.
Are you both the same gender too as that can have an impact. And the same body shape/weight? Age is only one factor

Ming the Merciless

There is no mercy