New commuter, advice needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jay6

Hi All,

I am hoping to start cycling to work from next month; however I am a total novice. The eventual plan is to cycle four days a week. I will be doing in total a round trip of 20 miles a day. I have planned my route and plan to do a test run next week on the weekend.

Due to my budget I cannot afford a brand new bike and would really appreciate your advice on buying second hand and what to look out for. I have included some links below on potential bikes. Or alternatively should I save up and buy something like the careera subway?

http://www.gumtree.com/london/89/32748189.html

http://www.gumtree.com/london/85/32186185.html

http://www.gumtree.com/london/93/32837493.html

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Jay

pinkkaz

Veteran
Hi Jay,

I'd say either the second or third look good - Ridgeback and Specialized are both good brands. I expect Scott is too but the wheels on that bike look a bit chunky for a fast commute across town.

I should say though that I bought a hybrid for a similar length route across London but now wish I'd bought a road bike or a tourer - sooo much quicker and would make it more fun. Saying that though the hybrid does the job. Second hand is fine although make sure you try it out before you hand over the money.

MajorMantra

Ditto on the second and third, I don't see any reason to get a bike with mountain bike rims for commuting. In fact, why not a pure road bike rather than a hybrid? If you don't like drops you can get one with flat bars and it'll be lighter and more fun (faster, more maneuverable).

Matthew

A

another_dave_b

As this is for a commuting bike, you might want to factor in the cost of mudguards, rack, lights, and lock when looking.