New to the fold ... first impressions of my S6L ....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
I'm new to Bromptons, though have always admired the design and secretly long hankered after one. Problem is that I have never been able to justify the expenditure, though I did entertain the thought as an alternative plan to the Rourke custom build last year. I even took one for a test ride.
My justification now is that I will get a flight case for it and take it with m,e on my weekly overseas business trips (where I know I might have some down-time).
Whilst I was cogitating a s/h S6L came available via Fossala in very good nick. Mrs FF said yes and it duly arrived last Friday.

I thought after 35 years of drop-bar road bike riding I'd give some first impressions....

I took it on one of my regular 20-ish mile loops into and around Oxford and back:

It's a bloody clever piece of kit.
It's lighter than I expected.
You need to watch the video a few times to get the hang of the folding technique.
First ride seems very wobbly
Gears take some getting used-too
Not honking up hills takes some getting used to.
It feels over-geared for steepish hills. When drive-train wears will get a smaller chainring.
Bowling downhill and along the flat in top gear seems wrong ... it rocks and rolls a bit and takes a lot of effort due to aerodynamics or lack thereof. Again, a good reason to gear it down a bit.
You need to relax into it and go with its flow.
It felt a bit more 'exposed' riding it on empty country roads than a regular bike.
It's a slightly more 'mashing pedaling technique
SPDs are not really such an advantage
The Dynamo lighting system is just perfect though I'd add higher level blinkys for increased visibilty
The ride is great.
Ergon grips are essential
Water bottles are hard to fit
Have to remember there is no top-tube between my legs at stops ....