Newbie touring question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

philkenseben

Hello,

Recently i've become obsessed with the idea of going on a bicycle tour. Which i've never considered before, nor done anything like before. I'm a complete novice to cycling: i had bikes when i was a teenage, now i'm in my 30's. My only method of commuting is the annoying London Tube. I'm reasonably fit though, play cricket in the summer as a fast (ok mediumish) bowler, so i'm not an ultra fat slob :smile:

Anyway, i figure travelling a country by bicycle would be an amazing experience. I'm kinda bored with the whole hostel/hotel thing. The idea of seeing Holland has really taken my fancy, since A: its biker friendly and B: because its flat and C: because its not very big. So i assume it would be a fairly easy(relatively) introduction to touring.

So i have 2 fairly big questions. Firstly:

1. Is it possible to buy a bike for this, thats foldable? Now i've seen the typical folding bikes, but they seem to me, to be for short distanced use. However are any on the market that you could reccomend that would be ok for touring ? I'm assuming i'd like to ride for about a week or something similar?

2. Is it possible to tour Holland and stay away from roads or atleast be in a dedicated cycle lane at all times? From research on the net, it seems cycle paths are everywhere in Holland (only been to amsterdam). Being a novice i'm fairly convinced i'd end up under the wheels of a semi trailer if i had to share a highway with one.

Thanks in advance. Hope this isnt laughed out of the water :biggrin:

Gerry Attrick

Lincolnshire Mountain Rescue Consultant
Welcome good chap (or chapess). I cannot answer your question , never having cycled in Holland, but someone will surely be along soon to help.

wullof

hello there