One thing I don't understand

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OK, I'm a new poster on here. I'm a car driver, motorcyclist and cyclist.
I've been on the road now for over 40 years on one form of transport or another and am VERY aware of the dangers we ALL face on the roads.
I must ask one question of the cycling community....
WHY for God's sake does nobody (apart from me it seems) have a rear view mirror on their bicycle?....
I was taught to drive in 1975 and the one thing that my instructor impressed upon me is the need to be absolutely aware of everything going on around me, to the side and to the rear as well as in front.
The thought of riding a bicycle on any road with a 30 ton lorry approaching from behind fills me with dread, not even being able to see it coming is surely insane!
Please don't post a reply about how the sound alerts you, we all see many cyclists riding with stereo's on their heads how would they hear?.... and the amount of cyclists looking over their shoulder is almost negligible.
I just cannot understand why no mirrors.
Simon

PS, I'm very aware as my first post this might be taken by some to be provocative and argumentative...it's not meant to be. If the post draws too many negative, nasty or inflammatory comments, I'll ask admin to pull it.

Origamist

Legendary Member
What road danger reduction benefit do you believe a mirror confers on you when you're riding a bike? How does it make it less likely you will be involved in a collision?

If you want a simple and honest answer, I don't have one because my neck works, and because my rising position varies often enough (on drops, on bars, standing to pedal, sitting to pedal, sitting up straight, going aero) that mirror placement is going to be problematic.

But the main reason is because I can turn my head to look really enough - and importantly, that very act of looking can often alert the driver behind me of a possible move, and alter their driving.

MontyVeda