Opinions on bikes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ruffers

Veteran
1577642565548.png

1577642587990.png

hi
I’m a beginner level cyclist and am looking to buy one of the above. Pinnacle £250 new, Specialized is £150 secondhand.
I like them both just want to know if anyone has one of them? Rode them? Best value for money etc.
I usually ride about 30 miles a week so nothing amazing probably outings once or twice a week.
Thanks in advance
Alec

vickster

Legendary Member
What's the spec on both? The Allez looks a rather old model, what's the condition like?

Go try them out for yourself, it's v easy to testride at Evans and any serious seller will be happy for you to try a bike out (maybe if you leave something valuable behind)

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Allez are stolen lots. Check the frame number on stolen-bikes.co.uk and anywhere else you can think. Ask for copies of purchase paperwork. Genuine sellers shouldn't mind the question, even if they have lost it. Mentally add a gold spec D lock to the cost.

Probably not much to choose between them as Evans continue under Sports Dreck ownership which will devalue any warranty IMO. You may still prefer to have it, though.

DSK

No experience with Pinnacle but quite possibly a fair deal for a new bike.

That specialized looks like its tired and will probably cost a few quid to get it they way you may want.

In my book there's no good reason for quality used bikes to be in an untidy state despite use. In addition, bikes that are used as hacks or commuters and carelessly thrown around, nuts and bolts left to rust are never worth it when there are many half decent bikes to be had for a couple of hundred upwards that have seen little use or been looked after. Look around the classifieds and you could easily take you pick of cleaner, decent used bikes for around £250 such as a Giant Defy, Trek Alpha/Domane, Specialized Allez.

Last edited:

Cycleops