Oxford to Istanbul (First Timer!)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

adam.perry

planning to cycle for Oxford to Istanbul this summer but this is my first time doing this sort of thing.

planning to do it on my Giant SCR 3 '07 as i can't afford to get a proper tourer and hoping that there is tarmac all the way.

planning to camp along the way a lot. (a proper poor student!)

really after advice on ;

equipment
places to go
places to sleep
customs
what need to be modified on my bike
everything!

any comments/advice much appreciated

Percy

Hi

Part of a big trip last year meant I rode back from Turkey (Erdine) to the channel - Dieppe.

There is certainly tarmac all the way - to Erdine at least - the quality of which varies wildly. I'm not a huge bike geek, but if you're planning on carrying camping kit (plus provisions and spares, presumably) on a road bike, you want to be making it all as light as possible, and your wheels as strong as possible.

It's such a large, diverse ride, in terms of sights, cultures etc. it's difficult to give a short version of 'advice'. Also depends what you like doing/seeing/how far you like riding etc. A highlight of the stretch for me was hitting three capitals - Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest - all within the space of a week (Bratislava to Vienna in the same day). And the Danube of course, which stayed with me for eight countries

If you mean customs as in border customs, you shouldn't have a problem. Hungary/Romania/Serbia/Bulgaria/Turkey were the only countries who wanted to see my passport, and that was normally just for an excuse to ask me where I was going - lots of laughter when I said 'England' - I'm pretty sure they all thought I was either joking or stupid!