Re-vitalising my poor neglected Orange

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Having caught the bike bug this year after 15 years of having the car bug, whilst i was at my parents place last week, i decided to venture into the shed at the end of the garden to check out my old Clockwork Orange LX (Alex). I think it's about a '93 and probably only ever done 1000 miles (I bought it when i was 16 a few months before i started learning to drive.)

I kind of regard Alex as a classic. I dont see many old Oranges about so i'd like to get him into a really good nick.

I was expecting him to be a total state having been sat in the shed unused for at least 10 years, so i was pretty surprised to see he didn't look too bad.

My question is....

If i was to try and get him up and running, what would you guys suggest i do:

Clean - definitely
New tyres and tubes - The rubber looks ok, but they are still the originals so at least 15 years old. Should i replace anyway?
Service - Entire drivetrain, hubs, headset, bb? Effectively a complete rebuild?
Decals - They're a bit tatty. I can get some new ones, but how easy is it to remove old decals and apply new ones?
Parts - Anything i should definitely consider ordering before starting?
It struck me that it has an old traditional headset. Is it possible to switch to aheadset easily, or does that require new forks too? Probably pointless changing, but i noticed old traditional headset dont even seem to be available to but online anymore.

I'll do all the work at my parents place, so ideally just want to spend 1 day doing the whole thing without having to return or find a need something.

Tollers

OP
OP
Tollers

Tollers

Guru
OK. Guess my question is a bit too vague for recommendations. I might just strip him and see what i find.

Definitely would like to know if i can fit an aheadset to threaded forks though. I'm guesssing not.

Tollers

02GF74

Über Member