Recommended Bag for One-day tour (overnight stay)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
I'm off to Derbyshire with my son and some other people from his cycle club. Plan is to head up there one day. The rest are heading back the next, but we might do some cycle routes up there, and head back on the train.

I've never done any cycle touring before in my life. Original plan was to use a rucksack, but given his efforts on the last event that we did (50 miles in 3 hrs 22), I'm concerned that this will slow me down to much, so we will probably need some proper bikepacking equipment.

Currently looking at something like this :Saddle Bag. Is 11l sufficient for one overnight stay for one adult, 1 child? What else would you recommend? Any experience?

Just need a warm, comfortable feeling that I am doing the right thing, whatever that is.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Rucksack not a good idea unless you want a sweaty back. A frame bag might be the best solution which should give you sufficient space for overnight. You won't need much beyond the basics.
The bag you linked would probably be okay but compare capacities/price with others.

chriswoody

Legendary Member
You've not said what you need to carry? Are you staying in a hotel/B&B or camping? It all depends on your overnight plans really. If staying in accommodation then toothbrushes and a spare pair of undies will suffice, along with waterproofs and a spare warm top. If that's the case then a small bag like the one linked to is probably more than sufficient. If your planning on camping then there is no way that 11 litres will be sufficient.

If you already own a rucksack, then pack it with the kit that you intend carrying on the trip and then you'll get an idea of the amount of litres capacity that you might need.