Removing pedals - is this as simple as it looks?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all - I have a Raleigh Motus ebike and as I ride it on Canal paths a lot it gets dirty - especially in winter

I can take the wheels off easily and clean the chain and gears - but the front cog is a problem as I can;t get to most of it. The Chain guard needs to be removed to get to it and the pedals are in the way
Soooooo
Looking at it (pickies below) it looks like getting a bigger Allen key should allow me to remove the pedals - something I have never done before (only been riding bikes since about 1970!)
And clearly there is a motor involved
Is this as simple as it looks (I know one has a left hand screw thread - doesn;t it??? - but if I try it will I find it is more involved than that
and will I need any special tools to do anything I will need to do???

advise appreciated.

Thanks
Mike

pickies below
???????

But no. Easy. Remember LH pedal is LH thread. Ergo it unscrews the wrong way.

Pedals will either have a flat that spanners will fit on or an Allen key fitting in the end of the axle. Piccies will help.

Arguably the easiest job on the bike.

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
Except they can get very, very tight and the bike freewheels when you're trying to undo them (left or right).

A proper long pedal spanner or a 3/8" ratchet drive with allen key bit will make things easier. It is nearly impossible with a normal-sized 6mm allen key. More upmarket pedals take an 8mm allen key, and you stand a better chance with one of those, because they're longer.

You will need a foot on the pedal to stop the cranks turning while you undo the pedal. This is one case where a fixed-wheel bike is much easier!

The left pedal has the left-hand thread.

Except they can get very, very tight and the bike freewheels when you're trying to undo them (left or right).