Replacement Bike Advice after riding the Bike From Hell

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jordibird

Hi,

I'm new to both the forum and to cycling and I am in need of some advice from the people in the know. 9 month ago I decided to cycle to work mainly to save money and it is easier than getting the bus etc. I lent my father in law's old Challenge (I think it was) MTB and voila off I went. After a month of blood (yes I fell off hitting a pot hole lol) sweat and tears (after falling off and hurting my pride) I decided that I could get in to this and went and purchased what I thought would be the ideal bike. The bike turned out to be evil (Stephen King wants it for his new film as it would give that car a run for her money as well as being the same colour). Not knowing any better I toddled into Halfords and came away with a Trax TFS1 double suspension MTB (it was recommended by the lad in there and to be honest I did like the colour :blush: ). I have took this bike back in about 6 times now and have been given the run around each time. The wheels do not run smooth they are for wont of a better word "wonkey" the brakes are loose and rub and it's like I'm riding into a force 10 hurrican even down hill. Parts of the bike are rusted and the handlebar will not stay in place and twists out of place, there are some strange clanking noises when I pedal and now the frame has a hairline crack in it. I took it back again to Halfords and pointed out the crack and everything else that had gone wrong since my last visit. Their response was that I have rode it offroad on bad surfaces and the stress of that has caused the fatigue in the metal and they will not replace it. They will repair and service it again but I would have to pay. Now the Manx Missile I am not but I thought that's what double suspension MTB's do, go off road, but no they were not having any of it so that was that.