Restoring a Carlton - Date Informaton and Guidance Please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pumpman

I have just bought an old Carlton and plan to restore it. As I am new to this, I have a number of questions – and I’m sure there will be many more. I hope that one/some of the experienced members will be able to help me.
I have tried to establish the model and date. From posts I have read on this and other sites, I think it is probably a Carlton Continental. I believe it should be possible to date the bike from the frame number. The only number I can see is under the bottom bracket and it is “X1720”.
Several posts refer to a site http://www.carltoncycles.me.uk/details/dating.htm, but this seems to have disappeared from the internet. I have tried to search for alternative sites for Carlton Frame Dating but without success. (Including the word “dating” in any search seems to bring up an odd selection of sites.) Does anyone have any information on Carlton frame numbers or know where I can find any information?
The frame is chromed and I assume it was once coated with a colour, but that has now gone. I think I will probably leave it as bare chrome or maybe line the lugs with some colour. However, before deciding, I was wondering what would be involved in restoring the original lacquer-over-chrome finish. Is this possible as a DIY spray job? If so, what is the paint/lacquer to use?
Regardless of which finish I go for, I will need to clean up the chrome first. It is mostly in good condition (except for an issue with the lamp-boss – see below), but there is some pitting. What is the best way to clean this up? I would have tried T-cut or metal polish, but I have seen a reference in one post to using aluminium foil. Can anyone tell me how this works?