Right Decision to go Fixie

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Oldie But Goodie

I am a very fit 57 yrs old and cannot resist the chance to try and hopefully buy a fixie this week.
My only worry is that maybe a fixie is only for 20 somethings? and also maybe I will still need gears at my age?
I am totally dedicated to fitness and cycling and even been out for a road ride in Bristol centre today but just don't want to make a pratt of myself?
Please advise guys/

yello

Welcome ObG.

You'll not make a pratt of yourself riding fixed and there's no age limit on riding fixed gear.

All I'd recommend is to take your time getting used to it (and that applies to anyone regardless of age).

You could well have a few 'moments' when learning the ropes, it's to be expected, but so long as you're taking it easy you'll not suffer anything worse than perhaps a bit of embarrassment!

I've been riding fixed for 6 or 7 years now, prefer it and don't see myself stopping... and I'm no 20 something, I'll be 50 next year.

OP
OP
O

Oldie But Goodie

Welcome ObG.

You'll not make a pratt of yourself riding fixed and there's no age limit on riding fixed gear.

All I'd recommend is to take your time getting used to it (and that applies to anyone regardless of age).

You could well have a few 'moments' when learning the ropes, it's to be expected, but so long as you're taking it easy you'll not suffer anything worse than perhaps a bit of embarrassment!

I've been riding fixed for 6 or 7 years now, prefer it and don't see myself stopping... and I'm no 20 something, I'll be 50 next year.

palinurus

Velo, boulot, dodo
15 years ago practically the only people you ever saw riding fixed, outside of London, was older cyclists- those that grew up in the era when club cyclists often switched to fixed in the winter.