Road Bike options

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pedalton

Regular
Hi all,

I have just started commuting, I am currently using a mountain bike with off road tyres, but considering getting a road bike, I have never had one and this is my opportunity to give them a go.

I am not sure where to start?

My commute is all on road about 5 miles each way. Well lit roads. Most of the route has cycle lanes or a large width of road. There are some traffic hot spots as I get into the city, but nothing major. I would use in most conditions, but not in heavy rain, snow or icy conditions.

Has anyone owned entry level road bikes like these before..
http://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/viking-jet-stream-road-bike-p267836
http://www.tesco.com/direct/vittesse-sprint-race-700c-road-bike-special-edition/215-0205.prd

Would I be better off with a second hand road bike to start with, perhaps a better model than the ones above?

As I am new to commuting I am not sure about forking out a lot on expensive bikes just yet.

Thanks everyone!

vickster

Legendary Member
Yes, go second hand. What's your budget?

Something like this would suit you better than both of those which will be poor.

http://www.cyclechat.net/threads/carerra-tdf-54cm-£200-pickup-paisley.168421/ (pick up in Scotland but there'll be others and the seller might be willing to post)

Don't buy a no name bike from Tesco!

@biggs682 might be able to sort you out with something retro

A cheaper option would be to put slick tyres on your MTB, use that through winter, save up for something shiny and new in the spring

Tin Pot

Guru
Your existing bike gets you there, and it's what 20-25min ride each way?

I suspect you might have some leisure cycling in mind too? Otherwise I'd save the cash.

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
Year round commuting in all weathers takes its toll on a bike, and a cheap bike will quickly become a money pit as it falls to bits.