Rollers or Turbo Trainer?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lavoisier

Winter is Coming!
I'm not quite sure whether to buy some rollers or a turbo trainer. I am inclined towards the turbo trainer as it has varying difficulty levels. But as I have no experience of either I thought I'd ask on here.

Paul

Sleeping Menace

I'm not quite sure whether to buy some rollers or a turbo trainer. I am inclined towards the turbo trainer as it has varying difficulty levels. But as I have no experience of either I thought I'd ask on here.

Paul

While the turbo will give you a workout, the rollers also help you to hone your sense of balance and positioning on the bike. You'll find yourself a much smoother rider, riding in a perfectly straight line after using rollers for a while. I had a turbo, and went over to rollers after trying them at a colleagues house a few times. If you're worried about varying the resistance, simply drop 5psi from your tyres.. and go into a higher gear, you should have no shortage then.

http://anotherdooratthe.endoftheinternet.org

Cycle related blog entries, including a few 5 minute reviews:
http://anotherdooratthe.endoftheinternet.org/category/cycling/

I found Turbo trainers to be boring and frankly a unrealistic training experience, the locked in feeling annoyed me and after a few sessions made it so I did not want to use them even if I wanted to train indoors. The resistance they offer is also very strange I found, feeling nothing like riding on the road.

Rollers however are a different thing, while you can not just set them up, turn your brain off and go Hamster for an hour the benefits are in my view much better than a Turbo as you work your core muscles and improve your bike handling and are having to constantly concentrate as you would when riding on the road.

Your gears offer the resistance on Rollers or you can buy one with an optional resistance unit.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!