Schwalbe quality control problem?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

S.Giles

Hi

Here's a photo of a Schwalbe City Jet tyre I purchased in January this year, which has only had road use. The cracks started appearing just after I fitted them, and run much of the way around the circumference of the tyres on both sides. In addition, they seem to have worn-out very quickly from road contact.

I've used City Jets before, and found them to be reasonably satisfactory tyres. In fact, I've had City Jets on another bike for five years and they're in better condition than these new ones! I can only think it's a manufacturing problem involving the rubber compound. A slow puncture has now developed in that wheel, and I assume there's a connection.

Has anyone else here had similar problems with City Jets? I'm talking to the retailer to get it rectified, but am not sure I want to risk using Schwalbes again.

(Please bear with me, this is my first attempt to post a photo on this forum, so fingers crossed!)

Steve

010.jpg

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
That looks alright to me. It's surface cracking where the dynamo strip has been bonded on and I've had similar on other tyres from various manufacturers. The strength of the tyre is in the fabric carcass so unless the cords are exposed/fraying or there are bulges in the tyre I'd be quite happy to trust that on my own bike.

I don't think the slow puncture is connected - more likely you've picked up a thorn or the valve is leaking. Worth checking.

OP
OP
S.Giles

S.Giles

Hello Phil,