Shimano Clipless pedals and Shoes help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Giant-Churchy

Hello all,

I have picked up my new Giant defy 1 2014 today and the bike retailer told me that the pedals i had supplied are the wrong pedals which are shimano SPD MTB pedals and shoes and I have the wrong shoes to. I wanted to know if its worth changing to what he called SPD SL which I believe are road bike pedals and what pedals should I be looking at getting.

Thanks all.
P.S I am a beginner and unsure of the roadies terminology.

Steve H

Large Member
Some say SPD-SL's are better for road biking. However loads of people wear the SPD's instead on the road. Absolutely no problem doing this!

Shoes come in two variants. Those with three holes in the bottom to attach cleats to and those with two holes in the bottom. The SPD-SLs fit into the three hole shoes. The SPDs fit the two hole shoes. Some shoes will accept both.

As long as your shoes fit with the cleats and pedals you'll be fine!

Roadrider48

Voice of the people
Plus 1 for what Steve said.
I have ridden with both and currently use spd type as I find them much easier to clip-in to. No problem clipping out with either style, it's just the clipping I find a lot easier with the spd as opposed to spd-sl.

vickster

Legendary Member
If you want to be able to walk, especially on a hard surface, stick with SPD, shoes with recessed cleats....unless you are indeed the missing third member of the Torville-Dean-Churchy triad

Twotter

I use SPD-SLs and when I walk my bike out to the front of the house from the garage I do feel like I'm walking on ice :smile: If I wanted to walk any distance I'd happily change over to SPDs.

CRVFR

I've got M520 pedals on both my road bike & MTB, that way I only need one pair of cycling shoes & I can actually walk about in relative comfort.

U

User33236